Dying leaves on “Dracaena marginata” Ask Question Asked 1 month ago. 6 years ago. Ask The Plant Expert: I re-potted my red-margined dracaena and now it appears to be dying. The Dracaena marginata canes can be twisted, straight, long or short. It's doing much better now in springtime, but is still suffering from the following problems: bent or partially torn leaves spotted brown dry spots on leaves one stalk that is really in bad shape. Brown tips on the leaves can indicate overwatering while numerous yellow leaves mean the plant needs more water. I had a candelabra form (which I gave to a friend before I moved) which you can see here. Help answer a question about Dracaena Marginata Dying - Gardening Know How Questions & Answers. Originally there were 4 main stalks coming out of the soil (sorry I'm fairly new to gardening so forgive for not knowing the names of things and such) and they were all losing leaves. I have a plant light above it too since it's indoors and the temperature is room temperature. Damage ranges from moderate injury to plant death. In stronger light, the leaves are thicker and somewhat more upright. However, these tweaks that nature gifted Dracaena for dry climates become a huge disadvantage when the plant sits in a constantly moist environment like marshes, swamps, or overwatered pots. Also, help answer other questions about General Gardening and Dracaena Plants, and plants at GardeningKnowHow.com Planted Too Deep First, make sure that the plant has not … In the spring, the outdoor varieties can develop tiny and fragrant white flowers, followed by circular yellow-orange berries. The leaves from the bottom are brown and falling off and the entire plant is looking droopy. Several conditions could lead to significant leaf loss for your Madagascar dragon tree (Dracaena marginata). A study for Dracaena marginata has shown that the optimal watering schedule for dracaena is every 5 to 7 days. This plant is Dracaena marginata which is now an unlikely me