Not to mention I'm confident enough to start building more own book of business and I actually closed my first loan all by myself this month. 8:30-12:00pm – Answer eMail, return phone calls. I am currently a professional in the construction industry with a degree in engineering. This is where an experienced Loan Officer can really help. The demand for MLOs continues to grow nationwide, … apartment By the way he was the most obnoxious person I have ever met. I work as a real estate title processor at a small company and I have been there for about two months now. I know this post seems abstract, but a career as a loan officer seems pretty attractive to me - one reservation I had though was that this guy, doing the math, was making $300-$500k a year whereas the median salary for a mortgage loan officer is only $50-$70k. It's enticing to me, as I've spent the last few years spending a LOT of time learning about personal finance, investments, the stock and commodities market, etc. On the other hand, MLOs must be licensed and require education that ensures they understand the ins and outs of lending. From what my friend has told me his mentor has a similar mentality - he is an honest person. There is a loan officer job posted in my area and I am just wondering if that would be a hard transition from processing to a loan officer position? It was so painful to watch: all I knew my granddad as was him sitting in his armchair and reading the papers. By the time the credit agency figured out it was fraudulent the loan was closed and the guy had his commission. What's the reason for the huge wage differences? foreclosure, Press J to jump to the feed. loan So I'm trying to move out of that. So while it's been very stressful I've learned an enormous amount because I've had some much exposure to all types of loans. Or they call with unrealistic expectations and get upset when the process isn't tailored to their exact need. Which is a huge milestone considering I've been working t